Wood Engraver’s Network Triennial

OPENING RECEPTION: November 1, 2018 from 5:30 – 7:30pm

Exhibition Dates: November 1 2018 through January 31, 2019

Wood Engravers’ Network Third Triennial Exhibition is the third juried, traveling exhibit featuring sixty-four (64) engravings by thirty-seven (37) artists from the United States, Canada, Ireland and Belgium. Juried by Gray Zeitz of Larkspur Press, the exhibit will travel through the end of 2019.

For many, wood engravings conjure memories of a favorite children’s story – a consequence of the medium’s highly efficient and successful use as illustration during the industrialization of printing (mid-to late 19th century). While wood engraving was once considered efficient, now the process is considered very slow. Its intimate scale and minute detail charm practitioners into working 40 hours or more on one 4 inch square piece of wood. This group exhibit provides a view of the contemporary practice of wood engraving and the wide variety of styles and approaches to the medium.

Wood engraving is a relief printmaking process where an original drawing is cut into the surface of an endgrain wood block and then inked and printed to create a reflected image of the cut block. The prints are considered multiple originals created in limited editions – not reproductions or digital creations – offering an affordable entry into collecting original art works.

Exhibiting artists include:
Wesley Bates (Ontario, Canada), Nick Baute (Kentucky), Evan Charney (Massachusetts), Paul Constance (Virginia), Nancy Darrell (North Carolina), Tony Drehfal (Wisconsin), Colleen Dwire (California), Leslie Evans (Massachusetts), Andy Farkas (North Carolina), Rich Gere (Texas), Rebecca Gilbert (Pennsylvania) R.P. Hale (New Hampshire), Gwen Heffner (Kentucky), Jon Hinkel (Minnesota), Eric Hoffman (Rhode Island), Anna Hogan (Massachusetts), Mirka Hokkanen (Finland), Judith Jaidinger (Illinois), Cindy Koopman (Minnesota), Channing Lefebvre (New York), Susan Mannion (Ireland), Michael McGarvey (New Jersey), John McWilliams (South Carolina), Joel Moline (Minnesota), Carl Montford (Washington), David Moyer (Pennsylvania), William Myers (Minnesota), Neil Peck (Washington), Sylvia Pixley (Michigan), Joanne Price (Kentucky), Abigail Rorer (Massachusetts), Anders Sandstrom (indiana), Kerri Safranski (Indiana), Robert Simola (California), James G. Todd (Montana), Manuel Vermeire (Brussels, Belgium), Richard Wagener (California)

Juror: Gray Zeitz, Founder and Operator of Larkspur Press, a nationally acclaimed fine press publisher working for more than forty years in Monterey, Kentucky. His specialty is printing handcrafted editions of Kentucky’s authors, including such figures as Wendell Berry, Bobbie Ann Mason, James Baker Hall, Frederick Smock, Guy Davenport, and Ed McClanahan. He also calls on talented wood engravers and expert bookbinders to collaborate in his work.

The Wood Engravers’ Network formed in 1994 to foster education and create a resource for wood engravers and the practice of wood engraving. The group publishes a biannual journal, holds an annual conference, maintains a website and social media presence, as well as sponsoring exhibits, group projects and an ongoing print exchange for members.